Moats

My life has a moat around it,
Created by many external factors,
(And a few internal)
That keeps messy people at a distance,
And protects my desire for a comfortable life.

The problem with my moat
Is that it offers a false sense of security:
A comfortable life is a good one!
But the moat distances me
From the people I want to love,
And that’s not good.

When will I recognize the moat as
the enemy,
Rather than something that keeps me safe
from enemies?
I am not sure I know how to traverse the moat.
I only know the comfort that the moat once provided
Is no longer comfortable,
If I claim to love my neighbor.

One thought on “Moats

  1. This is something that I’ve been struggling with as well. “For if you love those who love you, what credit is that to you? For even tax collectors/pagans/sinners love those who love them” (Luke 6:32). I would not label this command as “comfortable” at all!

Leave a comment